Al-Attiyah Wins On Dakar Rally

Qatar's Nasser Al-Attiyah held off teammate and race leader Carlos Sainz by just 25 seconds to declare victory in the third stage of the Dakar Rally.

It was the ninth victory on the Dakar for the Volkswagen driver, who took command early on the leg from Tucuman to Jujuy in Argentina, which enclosed a special stage of over 500km.

Former world rally champion Sainz won the first two stages of the annual classic and contentedly holds on to his overall lead.

He has a three minute 34 second advantage over Al-Attiyah, with Stephane Peterhansel (BMW) slipping to third spot, a further 45 seconds back. Peterhansel finished third on the stage, just behind the Volkswagens.

Despres finished two minutes 21 seconds back in second place, having claimed the opening two stages.

Paulo Goncalves of Portugal on a BMW completed third at three minutes 36 seconds to move up to fourth overall.
Bookmark and Share